Secondary Menu

You are here


We recognize leaders in the field of Hospital Medicine in Canada. Awards for Clinical Excellence, Outstanding Service in Hospital Medicine and Quality Improvement and Patient Safety are presented at the Canadian Hospitalist Conference each year.  Award winners receive complementary admission to the conference and are recognized in front of their peers at the Conference Dinner.

Past Award Recipients


CSHM Award for Outstanding Service in Hospital Medicine

2017 Dr. Puneet Seth, ON
2016  Dr. Joelle Bradley, BC
2013  Dr. Jean Maskey, Victoria, BC
2012  Dr. Echo Enns, Calgary, AB
2011  Dr. David Harris, Victoria, BC
2010  Dr. Bill Shannon, Peterborough, ON
2010  Dr. Wayne DeMott, Victoria, BC
2009  Dr. Kunuk Rhee, Toronto, ON
2009  Dr. David Wilton, Vancouver, BC
2008  Dr. Peter Jamieson, Calgary, AB
2008  Dr. David Ripley, Victoria, BC


CSHM Award for Excellence in Quality Improvement and Patient Safety

2017 Dr. Ron Taylor and Sheri Bray, SK
2013  Dr. Sunita Chacko, Calgary, AB
2011  Dr. Roderick Tukker, Vancouver, BC
2011  Dr. Steven Ligertwood, Port Coquitlum, BC
2011  Dr. John Ridley, Vancouver, BC
2010  Dr. Judit Bakonyi, Vancouver, BC
2010  Dr. Thomas Mayson, Vancouver, BC


CSHM Award for Clinical Excellence

2017 Dr. Ron Taylor, SK
2016  Dr. Dirgham Al-Jarrah, ON
2013  Dr. Robert Maloney, ON
2012  Dr. Caroline Benedek, Vancouver, BC
2011  Dr. Michael Tsoi, Calgary, AB
2010  Dr. Vandad Yousefi, Vancouver, BC
2010  Dr. Emmi Perkins, The Guelph
2009  The Guelph Hospital Hospitalist Program
2008  Dr. Patricia Grunton, Nanaimo, BC
2008  Dr. Nadine Henderson, Port Credit, ON